My Grandfather, the Mariner: Part 3

If you remember, I have been sharing with you the items that my cousin Beth had sent me, items from our common grandfather’s time as a ship’s cook.

Today, I have two menus from 1935, while Grandpie was working on the Matson S.S. Malolo.

From Tuesday, July 9, 1935, en route to Honolulu:

keene-charles-sr-1935-ss-malolo-voyage-menu-outer-cover

keene-charles-sr-july-9-1935-ss-malolo-voyage-menuinner-menu

Hummm… Tonight, I think I’ll have the Fresh Lobster Cocktail, Fried Monterey Bay Abolone Steak, and Butter Cream Slices for dessert.

From the voyage en route to San Francisco, Saturday June 15, 1935:

keene-charles-sr-june-15-1935-ss-malolo-voyage-menu-inner

Again, I am amazed at the amount and the variety of the foods offered: fresh Colombia salmon, “Chop Suey sundae” (raisins, dates, vanilla ice cream, flaked coconut, and chow mein noodles),  Hawaiian poi, casaba melon, caviar, and Newfehatel cheese.

I can imagine that Grandpie and the crew ate very well!

I have to imagine, as Grandpie passed away from cancer when I was only six months old. I wish I had known him, but I like to think that his two sons, my dad, Charles Jr., and my dad’s brother, my Uncle George, are something like him. If so, he was a bit of a scamp with a twinkle in his eye.

But, there is a bit of a family mystery around him, too. But, more about that next time.

 

Leave a Reply

