My Promised Follow-Up

In my last post, I wrote about Cyndi, the genealogist in the Switzerland County recorder’s office. And, yes, bless her; she did go out to the Gard Cemetery, spoke with the owner of the land, trekked out a mile off the road, and took pictures of William Gard’s grave and tombstone(s).

And, there’s more.

She went with a friend, also on the local cemetery committee. (Who knew that there was even such a thing?) They literally poked around in the area, finding what might be one or two more unmarked graves.  They weren’t sure if what they found was truly a grave or a rock; there needs to be more investigation to be sure.

And, there’s even more.

The local American Legion has offered to move William’s grave to the East Enterprise cemetery and rebury him with full military honors.

That just gave me goosebumps. I’d love to do this, for a variety of reasons. Where the grave is now is on private property and hard to access. Cyndi mentioned that the land will soon be up for sale, and that while the current owner has been gracious in allowing access, there’s no guarantee that future owners will be.

I’ve posted in genealogy pages on Facebook and on Find a Grave, asking for other Gard ancestors’ input. I’m not even sure if I have the legal authority to authorize a move. I need to do more searching, trying to find other descendants.

I’ll keep you posted!

 

Leave a Reply

