Advent Calendar of Christmas Memories 2015

December 7: Christmas Television and Movies

Television was still a relatively new thing when I was a little girl. I have vague memories of getting a color TV at one point, but not much more than that.

My mother’s favorite program was the Lawrence Welk Show, a music variety program. I enjoyed it, too, and they always had a Christmas special.

Later on, I simply fell in love with A Charlie Brown Christmas. The voices of Linus and Lucy were captivating to me, and it’s just not the same when I hear more modern versions.

christmas 67

This photo was taken in 1967, when I was nine. It’s the first one I could fine with a television set. In this photo of our liviing room, it’s just visible on the left side, right next to the giant speaker! Wow! Those things were huge! But, my dad really liked his music, especially the Boston Pops Orchestra, and he played it LOUD.

christmas 1970, barbara, richard, donald

Later, we added a family room on the other side of the house, and the TV moved there, where it is in the photo above.

I can’t wait to watch Charlie Brown with my grandkids again this year!

“The Advent Calendar of Christmas Memories (ACCM) allows you to share your family’s holiday history twenty-four different ways during December! Learn more at http://adventcalendar.geneabloggers.com.”

Leave a Reply

